Known as the Republic of Lithuania, is a country located in Northern Europe. Lithuania is one of the three Baltic states that is situated near the Baltic Sea

Mongolian tögrögLithuania is a green and flat land in the north of Europe, ashore the Baltic Sea. It is one of three Baltic countries, and it shares borders with Latvia, Belarus, Poland and Russia (Kaliningrad). The country is full of preserved natural landscapes, woods, lakes and rivers, and has a unique sea side, with Curonian split – a sandy peninsula, isolating the Curonian sea from the Baltic sea.
Lithuania is the only Baltic country with traditions of nearly eight hundred years of statehood. Its name was first mentioned almost one thousand years ago, in 1009. Wedged on the dividing line between Western and Eastern civilizations, Lithuania battled dramatically for its independence and survival. Once in the Middle Ages, Lithuania was the largest state in the entire Eastern Europe, crafts and overseas trade prospered.
As one of the latest baptized countries in Europe Lithuania preserved much of its pagan traditions and folk practices are still alive in villages.
Vilnius has always been a multinational, multilingual, and multicultural European city. Trying to position itself as an informal political leader of the Baltic countries, it shares its experience in democratic development with other countries of the post-Soviet bloc, and takes an active part in the EU renewal process.
Throughout 2018, Lithuania will be celebrating 100 years since the signing of its Act of Independence. The document, which was signed in Vilnius on 16 February 1918, laid the foundation for the Lithuanian state we know today: democratically-run, based on the principles of equality for all and connected to the rest of the world.

Operate by:

Amber Tours


Maritime/continental. Average temperature in July is +17°C, in January -4.9°C. However, temperatures can soar up to +30°C in summer, and drop to -32°C in winter. Summers are pleasantly mild, whereas not every winter offers an abundance of snow.


Official language– Lithuanian, which is the member of Baltic language group (other 2 members are Latvian, and dead Prussian language). It is the most archaic language from all the Indo-European languages.


Roman Catholic approximately 80% of the total populatio. Other confessions include Orthodox, Old Believers, Lutheran, Reformat, Judaist, Sunni, Karaite and other communities.

Ethnic Composition:

Lithuanians – 83.5%, Polish – 6.7%, Russians – 6.3%, Belarusians – 1.2%, others – 2.3%.

Political system:

Lithuanian Republic is the parliamentary democracy. The head of state is The President. Executive authority is Prime minister and the cabinet, and the legislative power is in the hands of Seimas (the parliament)


Latvia (land border – 588 km, sea border – 22 km)
Byelorussia (border – 677 km)
Poland (border – 104 km)
Russia (Kaliningrad) (land border – 255 km, border in Curonian sea – 18 km, sea border– 22 km)


Whole shore is 90 km long. The most unique part of seaside is the Curonian split – the peninsula, which starts in Kaliningrad and creates the Curonian sea.

Local Time:

Lithuania lies in the Central European Time zone (GMT +2 hours, or the same as, for instance, Helsinki, Riga, and Tallinn).

Capital: Vilnius
Currency: Euro
Population: 3 million
Official languages: Lithuanian

The Map Location

Stay in Touch

Never miss an update from us. Sign up for our newsletter and stay informed about our latest news, products, and promotions.

© Copyright 2003 – 2022   |   Global Discovery Network  |   All Rights Reserved