The Cook Islands are a self-governing parliamentary democracy in free association with New Zealand, located in Polynesia, in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean, between French Polynesia (Society Islands) to the east and Tonga to the west.
This archipelago has 15 inhabited islands spread out over 2.2 million square kilometres of ocean with no land between the tropical Cook Islands and Antarctica.
Furthermore, with the same time zone and latitude (south, rather than north) as Hawaii, the islands are sometimes thought of as “Hawaii down under”. Though smaller, it reminds some elderly visitors of Hawaii before statehood without all the large tourist hotels and other development.


Named after Captain Cook, who sighted them in 1770, the islands became a British protectorate in 1888. By 1900, administrative control was transferred to New Zealand; in 1965 residents chose self-government in free association with New Zealand. New Zealand handles defence, foreign affairs (including issuing passports) and currency; otherwise the islands are self-governing. This includes immigration, which is strictly controlled — even for non Cook Island New Zealanders.


Many Cook Islanders will tell you how there are more Cook Islanders living in New Zealand and Australia than in the Cook Islands. The population of the Cook Islands is less than 15,000. However, there are over 50,000 Cook Islanders living in New Zealand, and over 30,000 in Australia. Those remaining have often spent time in Auckland, Melbourne or Sydney before returning home.


Tropical, moderated by trade winds. Rarotonga has average maximum temperatures of around 25°C (77°F). In winter (May-October) and 29°C (82°F) in summer (November-April), temperatures in the northern islands are several degrees higher. Rainfall mostly occurs in summer, usually in the form of afternoon storms. Cyclone season is November to March, although the islands are hit by a big one only once every five years or so.

Time & Date: GMT -10

The dollar is the currency of the Cook Islands. The dollar is subdivided into 100 cents, although some 50 cent coins carry the denomination as “50 tene”.

Cook Islands Māori is an Eastern Polynesian language. It is the official language of the Cook Islands and is an indigenous language of the Realm of New Zealand. Cook Islands Māori is closely related to New Zealand Māori but is a distinct language. Cook Islands Māori is simply called Māori when there is no need to disambiguate it from New Zealand Māori, but it is also known as Māori Kūki ‘Āirani (or Maori Kuki Airani), or, controversially, Rarotongan. Many Cook Islanders also call it Te reo Ipukarea, literally “the language of the Ancestral Homeland

Travel Insurance:
When buying your travel insurance, always check the small print – some policies specifically exclude ‘dangerous activities’, which could be anything from scuba diving to horse riding. You should check whether the medical coverage is on a pay first, claim later basis and, more importantly, ensure that your medical coverage includes the cost of medical evacuation.

As a visitor – any person who enters the Cook Islands solely for recreation or holiday – you will need a valid passport and a return ticket. This allows you to stay up to 31 days in the Cook Islands.
Extensions may be granted on a monthly basis for up to five months. New Zealand citizens automatically qualify for a 90-day stay. For extensions, you will need to apply 2 weeks before your permit expires.

International Airports:
Rarotonga International Airport

Capital: Avarua
Currency: New Zealand Dollar, Cook Islands Dollar
Population: 10.900
Official languages: English (86.4%); Māori (76.2%); other (8.3%)